Annual events

SONGEA BECOMES MISSIONARY: On 18th April 2004 we held a Pontifical Mass at Zimanimoto Stadium in Songea Town. It was
attended by the faithful from all the four town parishes of Matogoro, Cathedral Church, Mjimwema and Bombambili. Also present
were all our missionaries and religious priests, brothers and sisters from Peramiho Abbey, Hanga Abbey, Chipole Convent and the
the Augustinian Fathers and Sisters from Mahanje and Wino as well our diocesan brothers from Lighano Monastery. The occasion
was arranged by the Tanzania Episcopal Conference through the Missionary Awareness Committee (MAC) to launch a program of
missionary awareness in the local Church of Tanzania. The Episcopal Conference decided to start this program with Songea
Archdiocese. During the Mass which was very well attended, 14 catechists offered themselves for missionary work and four
youngmen offered themselves for voluntary work to assist sick diocesan priests when they are admitted in the hospital. Also on
that occasion, all missionary congregations were presented to the public by a group of each community coming forward and
pronouncing their charism and the history of their missionary presence in the Archdiocese.

The procession, was long, solemn and beautiful, with full participation by the people of God in all the

The Holy Mass at Majimaji Stadium

From the Cathedral the procession proceeds to Majimaji Stadium

The Benedictine Tutzing Sisters, founder Congregation of the Diocese

A section of the faithful, mainly the religious, who attended the Congress





Another section of the faithful present, mainly the laity

The Regional Commissioner, Maj.Gen. Saidi Saidi Kalembo addressses the faithful

The little girls accentuate the liturgy by accompanying the rithm of the songs by their soft dance

Confirmations: On 19th June in Parangu, and on 20th June in Peramiho:
Jubilees or Anniversaries: On 24th June 11 Sisters celebrated their 25th Anniversary of Professions in Chipole Convent:

Srs. Mfurahivu Kinyero OSB, Sr. Hisani Mhagama OSB, Sr. Sistahili Sowo OSB, Sr. Mwangavu Mbunda OSB, Sr. Agnesia Ndunguru

OSB, Sr. Ines Hyera OSB, Sr. Acchilles Sanga OSB, Sr. Chrisma Ngonyani OSB, Sr. Safina Komba OSB, Sr. Lwanga Nchimb OSB,
Sr. Blanca Gowele OSB